Logan Seavey Leads KKM Sweep

Logan Seavey (POWRi photo)

ELDON, Mo. — When the dust settled at the conclusion of the 25-lap POWRi Lucas Oil National and West Midget League feature at Lake Ozark Speedway, Keith Kunz Curb Agajanian Motorsports swept the podium with Logan Seavey prevailing over teammates Tucker Klaasmeyer and Tanner Carrick.

On the opening lap, Klaasmeyer lead the charge, narrowly leading the field to the stripe over Kyle Craker. As the field thinned out, Carrick mounted a charge on the brim of the sweeping third-mile oval following a restart on lap four and took over from Klaasmeyer, only to be docked a position for dropping out of line on the restart.

With Klaasmeyer back out front and Carrick in second, Seavey locked in behind the duo and found a unique line in three and four that allowed him to propel past Carrick and then onto Klaasmeyer.

With five laps remaining, Seavey made his move past Klaasmeyer off turn four and powered into the lead. Coming to the checkered, Klaasmeyer and Carrick followed Seavey, resulting in a podium sweep for Keith Kunz Curb/Agajanian Motorsports and Toyota. Kory Schudy took fourth with Sam Johnson in fifth.

“Early I was struggling really bad, just fighting the racetrack,” commented Seavey. “I made as many adjustments as I could with the shocks and was able to really get going there about halfway. It took a while for the race to get a rhythm and get going. It seemed like the longer the green went, the better my car got. I found the middle there and it was the only place I could get any speed through three and four. Just getting through the bumps right was key. Luckily that late yellow stacked us back up and gave me a shot at the lead. You’re kind of a sitting duck when you’re leading the race and the track changes like that and a different line comes in.”

“I felt really good in the beginning,” stated Klaasmeyer. “I felt really good once I went to the top in one and two. I was kind of a sitting duck in three and four. I thought I was on to something but it didn’t work as long as I hoped it would. Once he got around me, I started hitting the bottom on entry and it felt like it was really good at that point. Second is good. It was a good point night.”

The finish:

Logan Seavey, Tucker Klaasmeyer, Tanner Carrick, Kory Schudy, Sam Johnson, Holly Shelton, Karter Sarff, Blake Carrick, Jake Neuman, Kyle Craker, Michelle Decker, Hank Davis, Maria Cofer, Chase Porter, Karsyn Elledge, Austin Brown, Tyler Vantoll, Holley Hollan, J.D. Black, Brendan Wisely, Ryan Robinson, Tyler Thomas, Zach Daum, Mark Chisholm, Chance Morton.