Klaasmeyer Fends Off Neuman In Macon

Tucker Klaasmeyer (POWRi photo)

MACON, Ill. — Tucker Klaasmeyer held off a last-lap charge by Jake Neuman to win his third POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League event of the season Saturday at Macon Speedway.

Klaasmeyer, driving for Keith Kunz, chased Tyler Courtney until the 21st lap when Courtney’s midget gave out, opening the door for Klaasmeyer to take the lead. Behind Klaasmeyer, Jake Neuman was making a run towards the front.

On the final lap Neuman took his shot at Klaasmeyer, sliding in front of Klaasmeyer coming out of the final turn. He couldn’t make the move stick and Klaasmeyer managed to get back by him during the run to the finish line.

“We were off for a couple weeks and I was hoping I wasn’t rusty,” said Klaasmeyer. “Macon was about as good as it ever is. We had a good heat race. It feels good to get number three. We’ve been close a couple times this past month, but haven’t been able to seal the deal, but this time we got it done for good. Thank you to Big Al Scroggins, Keith Kunz, Pete Willoughby and everyone at Keith Kunz Motorsports, as well as Toyota. Now we can focus on getting number four tomorrow.”

Holly Shelton ran third ahead of Jerry Coons Jr. and Jason McDougal.

Austin Schaeffer won the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro League feature while Guy Taylor won the local pro late model event. Jeremy Nichols won the street stock feature while Anthony Sunshine won the hornet main event.

The finish:

Tucker Klaasmeyer, Jake Neuman, Holly Shelton, Jerry Coons Jr., Jason McDougal, Joe B. Miller, Ryan Robinson, Daniel Adler, Kyle Schuett, Austin Odell, Austin Brown, Zach Daum, Karter Sarff, Daniel Robinson, Cole Bodine, Alison Slaton, Joey Wirth, Ray Seach, Tyler Courtney, Nick Knepper, Shelby Bosie, Dalton Camfield.