Grant Marches Through Grain Valley

Justin Grant stands on the gas at Valley Speedway. (Russell Moore photo)
Justin Grant stands on the gas at Valley Speedway. (Russell Moore photo)

GRAIN VALLEY, Mo. — Justin Grant claimed victory as 34 midgets signed in for Sunday night’s finale of the Mid-State Open Wheel Nationals for the POWRi Lucas Oil National and West Midget League at Valley Speedway.

It was the second victory in as many nights for Grant, who topped the USAC feature at Oklahoma’s Port City Raceway on Saturday.

Using a prime pole position starting spot by earning the high-point qualifier award, Grant would drive a near-flawless feature on his way to claiming the night’s win.

Grant would not be denied as the top-five would all throw their names in the mix, with Grant maintaining composure and the lead.

Thomas Meseraull was among the front-runners, making a last-ditch effort in the closing laps to gain on Grant eventually placing a close second.

Tanner Carrick appeared to be the only driver not willing to give up the top-side momentum, mounting several charges to the front placing third. Logan Seavey and Kevin Thomas Jr. rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Feature (30 laps): 1. 4A-Justin Grant[1]; 2. 7X-Thomas Meseraull[2]; 3. 35-Tanner Carrick[3]; 4. 19AZ-Logan Seavey[7]; 5. 5-Kevin Thomas Jr[9]; 6. 08-Cannon McIntosh[12]; 7. 44S-Andrew Felker[4]; 8. 32-Trey Marcham[10]; 9. 3N-Jake Neuman[5]; 10. 15-Emerson Axsom[17]; 11. 98-Clinton Boyles[14]; 12. 28-Ace McCarthy[19]; 13. 55K-Karter Sarff[6]; 14. 4-Robert Dalby[20]; 15. 44X-Wesley Smith[16]; 16. 5D-Zach Daum[11]; 17. 42-Hank Davis[13]; 18. 00-Trey Gropp[22]; 19. 19P-Don Droud Jr[15]; 20. 91-Andy Bishop[8]; 21. 21K-Emilio Hoover[23]; 22. 7M-Chance Morton[18]; 23. 19M-Ethan Mitchell[21]