Cummins Tops WAR Non-Wing Nationals

Kyle Cummins in victory lane. (POWRi photo)

ELDON, Mo. — After missing Friday’s opener to the WAR Non-Wing Nationals, Kyle Cummins joined the POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprint League field and led all 25 laps at Lake Ozark Speedway, claiming $3,000 for winning the inaugural event.

The victory also makes Cummins eligible for the $20,000 Bell Racing USA Triple Crown Challenge, which he has committed to attempting at Lucas Oil (Sept. 22) and Fairbury (Oct. 6).

Slotting Kyle Cummins and Wesley Smith on the front row, it was Cummins who roared into the early lead and bolted straight to the top. He was quickly chased by Landon Simon, who moved from fourth into second on the opening lap.

Cummins built a healthy advantage in the early running until the first caution of the night flew on lap eight for Quinton Benson, who entered the night second in the point standings, but left on the hook.

As the field re-fired, all eyes turned to the battle for third as Chris Parkinson, Wesley Smith and Wyatt Burks went three-wide on numerous occasions battling for position. Soon the action turned to the runner-up spot as a three-way war was waged between Simon, Riley Kreisel and Parkinson. Kreisel and Simon went toe-to-toe trading sliders corner after corner and competing in close quarters. Their furious battle allowed Parkinson to sneak up and make it a three-car battle, but the action all came to a head on lap 18 when chaos struck.

Coming together battling for the spot, contact between Riley Kreisel and Chris Parkinson sent both drivers around and ensued to collect Landon Simon and Mario Clouser, taking out three of the top four runners. Going back to green for the final time, Cummins pulled away from the field while Ty Hulsey continued his march to the front of the field rolling the bottom.

As the double checkered flags waved, Cummins crossed the line to score a dominant victory, making it two victories in to attempts with the POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprint League for Cummins.

Following Cummins to the line was Oklahoma’s Ty Hulsey, who guided the Risley Racing No. 24h from 10th-to-second.

After initially finishing third, Wesley Smith was found light at the scales and his great run was unfortunately diminished with a disqualification. Jack Wagner rounded out the podium to earn a career-best result in what was a hard-charging 20th-to-third bid.

Closing out the top five were Wyatt Burks and J.D. Black.

The finish:

Kyle Cummins, Ty Hulsey, Jack Wagner, Wyatt Burks, J.D. Black, Logan Faucon, Anthony Nicholson, Ben Brown, Mario Clouser, Jeff Wingate, Brad Wyatt, Craig Carroll, Samuel Wagner, Landon Simon, Chris Parkinson, Riley Kreisel, Shon Deskins, Ryan Kent Dylan Kadous, Chance Morton, Quinton Benson, Wesley Smith.