Beason Tops Creek County Midget Mayhem

Jonathan Beason poses in victory lane Friday at Creek County Speedway. (Richard Bales Photo)

SAPULPA, Okla. – It was Midget Mayhem indeed on Friday night at Creek County Speedway as Jonathan Beason and Cannon McIntosh delivered an exciting conclusion to the POWRi Lucas Oil West Midget League main event.

Only one month removed from his insane Turnpike Challenge triumph over Christopher Bell, Beason came back out to play and once again found victory lane, this time by fending off McIntosh’s late-race sliders and topping a stacked 26-car field.

The night began with a trio of heat race victories heading to Beason, Tyler Thomas and young Hank Davis. However, it was Oklahoma City’s Trey Marcham atop the passing points chart, as a seventh-to-third charge slotted his No. 32 entry on the pole position for the 25-lap main event.

Out front in the early running was the likes of Beason, Thomas, and Marcham, while the hard chargers of McIntosh, Andrew Felker and Grady Chandler came storming through the pack. As the laps ticked away and the finish inched closer, McIntosh’s pursuit grew hotter as he joined the battle for the lead.

A late-race caution set up an epic battle, as fans were treated to a side-by-side affair as Beason and McIntosh went wheel-to-wheel with the win on the line. Up for the challenge, the veteran Beason took every single of McIntosh’s moves in stride, having a reaction in his pocket each time by.

In the end, Beason fended off all challenges and hung on to secure his second POWRi Lucas Oil West Midget League victory the year aboard the Hard Eight Racing, Ferguson Superstore No. 8J.

Chasing him to the line after providing a mighty challenge was McIntosh. Rounding out the podium with a third-place finish was POWRi National star Thomas.

Closing out the top five was 2012 POWRi National Midget champion Felker and Marcham.

The finish:

Jonathan Beason, Cannon McIntosh, Tyler Thomas, Andrew Felker, Trey Marcham, Grady Chandler, Matt Sherrell, Alex DeCamp, Andrew Deal, Kaylee Bryson, Ryan Padgett, Chance Morton, Blake Edwards, Noah Gass, Kade Morton, Dustin Weland, Tyler Shoemaker, Alex Sewell, Kevin Bayer, Hank Davis, Wesley Smith.