Beason Conquers Humboldt Midget Go

Jonathan Beason battles Grady Chandler (4b) at Humboldt (Kan.) Speedway. (Richard Bales photo)

HUMBODLT, Kan. — Jonathan Beason moved to the top of the Lucas Oil POWRi West Midget League presented by Executive Concrete NWA win charts by topping Saturday night’s 25-lap feature at Humboldt Speedway.

Beason battled past Friday-night winner Hank Davis in the closing rounds to pick up his third series win of the year aboard the Hard Eight Racing Ferguson Superstore No. 8j entry.

After starting fourth, Beason spent most of the race chasing front row outside starter Davis, who was vying for a weekend sweep.

Davis weathered several cautions until Beason pounced following the final caution with just three laps to go after A.J. Burns suffered engine woes.  Beason slid past Davis to take the win with the 14-year-old settling for runner-up honors.

Wesley Smith rallied from 14th to round out the podium in third with 13th-starter Joe B. Miller and pole starter Kory Schudy rounding out the top five.

The finish:

Jonathan Beason, Hank Davis, Wesley Smith, Joe Miller, Kory Schudy, Blake Edwards, Craig Oakes, Pat Schudy, Hunter Fischer, Dustin Gilbert, Hannah Adair, A.J. Gilbert, A.J. Burns, Emilio Hoover, Morgan Frewaldt, Phil Shapel, Brendon Wiseley, Chase Porter, Noah Gass, Shaun Shapel, Grady Chandler.