Pittman Delivers First URC Triumph


BRIDGEPORT, N.J. — Daryn Pittman, driving the Mike Heffner-owned sprint car won the 64th season opener for the Rislone URC Sprint Series.


Pittman of Owasso, Okla., charged from 10th starting position, moving into third before the completion of the first lap. Pittman took the top spot when race leader Ed Aikin broke coming out of turn four.


Pittman held off several challenges from lady racer Becca Anderson, who was driving the Dave Betts Towing No. 22. Pittman was up to the challenge and took the win, earning $2,000 for his efforts.


On two occasions Anderson was in a position to make a pass for the lead but Pittman was up to the challenge and remained the space setter.


For the final laps, Pittman held off all competitors to score his first career URC win. Anderson delivered an impressive second-place finish followed by J.J. Grasso, Curt Michael and Eddie Wagner.


The finish:

Daryn Pittman, Becca Anderson, J.J. Grasso, Curt Michael, Eddie Wagner, Jonathan Swanson, Mark Bitner, Robbie Stillwaggon, Rory Janney, Art Liedl, Dave Ely, Alain Bergeron, Tim Hogue, Kramer Williamson, Randy West, Bill Unglert, Kevin Darling, Steve Whary, Andy Best, Troy Betts, Chris Weiss, Josh Weller, Ed Aikin, Jason Clauss.