Picking The Mike Phillips Memorial Winner

With action like this expected during the 2013 running of the National Speed Sport News 66 Mike Phillips Memorial, there is no telling who could win. (Rich Forman Photo)

Speaking of the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series, the defending series champion Joe B. Miller will also be on hand to try and take home his share of the $35,000 purse.

“It would mean a lot to me,” Miller said of potentially winning the National Speed Sport News 66 Mike Phillips Memorial. “I’ve been starting my own business building motors this year, so it would mean a lot to the business and for myself (to win).”

Miller has also had a lot of success at Belle-Clair, including two victories in the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series this season.

“It’s a quick track especially for micros. I think the track fits my driving style more than anything,” Miller said. “We’ve run there a ton for probably four or five years now. We’ve kind of gotten the car tuned into the track.”

Maybe the driver who wants to win the race the most is Scott Sawyer. Sawyer, who in addition to being a driver also owns and operates Sawyer Chassis, finished third in the Mike Phillips Memorial in 2011 and second in 2012. With a little bit of luck, Sawyer hopes to improve by one more position.

“We’ve bettered ourselves every year,” Sawyer said. “Obviously we keep trying to get better and better every year. It is getting harder and harder because obviously more of my cars (Sawyer chassis’) are in the field. It is hard as a chassis builder to be able to give all of my guys all of the information I’ve used over the last 20 years to win races. I don’t try to hide anything, so I give them anything every year.

“There are just a lot of good drivers out there with a lot of good equipment. We’ll just try to do our best this year and see if we can pull anything out of the bag,” Sawyer said.

Andrews, Thomas, Miller and Sawyer are only four of many entries that have been filed for Friday and Saturday’s National Speed Sport News 66 Mike Phillips Memorial. Are they the drivers to beat? The only way to know for sure is to be at Belle-Clair Speedway this weekend to find out.

The POWRi-sanctioned National Speed Sport News 66 Mike Phillips Memorial for micro sprint cars is July 18-20 at Belle-Clair Speedway in Belleville, Ill. The July 20 finale pays $10,000 to win and $500 to start. For more information on the event, visit www.addiktivepromotions.com.