Year-By-Year History: Ohio Sprint Speedweek



The 26th annual Ohio Speedweek started with three consecutive rainouts before Randy Hannagan won the opener at Hilltop Speedway. It was his only victory in four events, but it was enough to give him the series championship.

Dale Blaney won twice, including the $10,000-to-win main event at Eldora. David Harrison triumphed at Fremont Speedway.


Pennsylvania invader Stevie Smith won back-to-back features during the middle of the week and rode it to the Ohio Speedweek title.

Tim Shaffer, who topped the $10,000-to-win finale at Fremont Speedway, also won a pair of features. Danny Smith and Terry McCarl also visited victory lane.

David Gravel (89), Byron Reed (5), Dale Blaney (2) and Tim Shaffer go four wide prior to an Ohio Speedweek event in 2010. (Rick Sherer photo)


Eighteen-year-old David Gravel won the Limaland Motorsports Park round of Ohio Speedweek for his first All Star victory. That was enough to help him win the title for the event that covered nine days around the Buckeye state.

Tim Shaffer won three features, including the $10,000-to-win finale at Fremont Speedway. Dave Blaney picked up two wins and Byron Reed, Brad Sweet and Rob Chaney each won once.


Tim Shaffer picked up two victories, including the finale at Fremont Speedway to capture the Speedweek championship.

Dale Blaney won twice, while Kyle Sauder grabbed a victory at Limaland Motorsports Park. Three races were rained out.


Stevie Smith won the second round of Ohio Speedweek at Waynesfield Raceway Park and rode it to his second series title.

Kyle Larson and Dale Blaney each won two features, with Blaney topping the big-money finale at Fremont Speedway. Danny Holtgraver, Brandon Matus and Shane Stewart also triumphed. One race was rained out.


Tim Shaffer went without a feature victory en route to the Ohio Speedweek title.

Jac Haudenschild won at Eldora Speedway and Limaland Motorsports Park, while Dale Blaney topped the $10,000 finale at Fremont Speedway.

Chris Andrews, Brad Sweet and Shane Stewart also won features.


Dale Blaney put an exclamation point on his fifth Ohio Speedweek championship, winning the final three races of the series, including the $10,000-to-win finale at Fremont Speedway.

Jac Haudenschild, Christopher Bell and Danny Holtgraver also won features, with rain claiming three events.


Greg Wilson copped Speedweek victories at Eldora Speedway and Fremont Speedway and when the final two rounds were rained out, he earned his first Ohio Speedweek title.

Dale Blaney won three features and Sheldon Haudenschild claimed a pair of victories.

Kyle Larson won the 2016 Ohio Speedweek opener at Attica Raceway Park. (Vince Vellella Photo)


Chad Kemenah won his second Ohio Speedweek title, and for the second time he did it without winning a feature.

Kyle Larson was the only driver to win two features, while Jac Haudenschild topped the $10,000-to-win finale at Eldora Speedway. Sheldon Haudenschild, Rico Abreu, Bryan Clauson and Randy Hannagan also won main events.


Tim Shaffer used victories at Eldora Speedway and Waynesfield Raceway Park to push him to his second Ohio Speedweek championship.

Kyle Larson won a pair of features, while Spencer Bayston and Cole Duncan each won once. Two races were rained out.


Paul McMahan topped the Speedweek opener at Attica Raceway Park and was consistent enough through the remainder of the week to win his first Speedweek title.

While rain washed out two events, Aaron Reutzel, Kyle Larson, Christopher Bell, Chad Kemenah and Cole Duncan also won features.


The 37th running of Ohio Speedweek was plagued by rain with Dale Blaney riding a victory at Muskingum County Speedway to his sixth Speedweek crown.

Aaron Reutzel, Kyle Larson and Buddy Kofoid also triumphed as rain claimed five of the nine scheduled races.

SPEED SPORT’s Ohio Sprint Speedweek coverage is presented by Cometic Gasket Inc., a leading worldwide supplier of gaskets and engine sealing solutions for the automotive performance, powersports, original equipment and remanufactured engine industries. No matter what you ride, Cometic Gasket can seal your machine so you can focus on the finish line.

Since 1989, Cometic has been living, breathing, and eating powersports. As a proud supporters of GNCC, AMA, NASCAR, and other race-teams across the country, Cometic understands what it takes to put everything on the line with one goal in mind. When you earn your living racing at the highest level against the best in the country, engine failures simply aren’t an option. Champions across the world continue to use Cometic Gasket for their engine-sealing solutions. Whether they’re driving a Gen-6 stock car or riding a top fuel motorcycle, Cometic Gaskets are the reliable source in extreme conditions.

For more information on Cometic Gasket Inc., visit