Wimmer Captures Ohio Sprint Car Series Opener

Brandon Wimmer won the Ohio Sprint Car Series season opener Saturday at Atomic Speedway.

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio – Brandon Wimmer held off Danny Smith on Saturday evening to claim the season opening race for the Ohio Sprint Car Series at Atomic Speedway.

Wimmer, who started on the pole of the $2,522-to-win A Main, rebounded from a crash the previous week at Attica Raceway Park in Attica, Ohio. The victory wasn’t easy for the Fairmount, Ind., resident as former OSCS and multi-time Atomic Speedway champion Smith pressured the entire 22 laps of the 10th annual Dan Reno Memorial.

Making the victory even more special, Wimmer drives for John Shewbrooks Racing, which is a small team that tows to the track each week with an open, flat-bed trailer and has few spare parts.

“I can’t thank John enough for the opportunity and all the guys who work so hard on this deal, including Scott Cool, Andy King, Roger Ramsey and Trevor Ramsey,” Wimmer said. “We’ve changed bars and shock packages this year and it’s taken a few races to get going, but now we feel a lot better.”

Bryan Nuckles rounded out the podium and garnered the Pyrotect Hard Charger Award for advancing the most positions in the feature. Nate Reeser placed fourth and Jimmy Stinson ended fifth.

The night was a clean sweep for Wimmer, who set quick time during qualifying and also earned a contingency award from Rod End Supply for winning the first heat race. Smith also claimed the award for winning the second heat race.

The finish:

Brandon Wimmer, Danny Smith, Bryan Nuckles, Nate Reeser, Jimmy Stinson, Josh Davis, Chris Ferrall, Mark Imler, Bradley Ashford, Frankie Nervo, Adam Cruea, Jake Hesson.