Walker Is 14th OCRS Sprint Winner


COLCORD, Okla. — In a night of multiple first’s for the traveling warriors of the Oil Capital Racing Series, Mickey Walker, a third-generation driver from the Walker racing tree, notched his first OCRS A-Feature win in only his seventh OCRS start.

In the same moment, Miss Harli White finished off what she set out to do earlier in the season and wrapped up the 2013 OCRS championship. White becomes the first female sprint car driver to achieve such a feat in any sanctioning series within the plains region.

After winning the AmeriFlex Hose and Accessories heat race earlier in the night, Walker started outside the second row of the main event in his Action Auto Collision / Sign & Stitches / Pops Custom Racing Engines / Maxim machine and immediately settled into second spot at the drop of the green flag riding the coat tails of second year driver Michael Bookout who started outside front row in his Bigfoot Racing / Jet-Hot High Performance Coatings / Carter-Maxwell / Stewart Engines / ART chassis.

Bookout was stout as he led the first eleven circuits of which Walker was all over his rear bumper for six of those laps before Walker finally made the pass he would savor on the twelfth lap. Shayla Waddell was hooked up on the ¼-mile track as she was sitting third the entire time the front runners were fighting for the lead in her Shores Sentry / Jaguar of OKC / PM Pro / Boyd Racing Engines / Eagle. Waddell would relinquish a position to another Eagle pilot in Johnny ‘Hotrod’ Kent on the 16th lap.

Kent would then maneuver the Care Family Medical / Wesmar Power Parts #55 past Bookout on lap 20 for the runner-up spot. While these battles were taking place, White and Danny Smith, the only other driver that could keep White from clinching the title were both mired in the back of the pack out of the top ten and each were struggling to move forward. Ironically, the last time these two racers failed to finish in the top ten at the same time was in their last outing, which was at the Oklahoma Sports Park on September 14th. Mr. Smith, the Drive Shaft’s Inc. heat winner tried to separate from White, the Bob Hurley Auto Family heat victor, but it was to no avail even though Smith climbed into the tenth spot. White’s thirteenth place was just enough to lock the title with one race on the schedule remaining.

“This is a dream come true,” said the new champion. “At the beginning of the year, we really didn’t expect to come out as good as we did, but after the first two wins (White won the first two races on the schedule), we thought we would go for the championship. I have been really blessed with my dad (Charlie) setting up the car really perfect for the whole season. I have to thank my sponsors: Jerry Tucker / Terraco Soil Farming / Crash Enterprises / All Star Cafe and Boyd Engines. I also have to thank my angel, Donnie Ray Crawford.”

Back up front, while Walker was working on his own piece of OCRS glory, Bookout was getting all he wanted from Waddell and the ‘Princess” took a spot from Bookout to move into a podium position. Walker snapped the finish line tape first with Kent in tow followed by: Waddell, Bookout (who had his best career OCRS finish), and Kade Morton in one of the Morton Excavating / STK Racing Engines / XXX chassis sprinters. Sixth through tenth were: four-time OCRS champion Jamie Passmore, Michael Tyre, Kyle Clark, Derek Cottrell and Smith.

“I have to give credit to my dad (Kenneth) for setting up the car, he did an amazing job,” echoed a happy Walker. “He has told me what to do and how to do it and for all he had taught me in the past years, all I need to do is drive. I want to live up to be as good as my dad and my grandpa (Terry).”

Walker becomes the 14th different winner on the OCRS circuit this season and is also the 10th first time winner in OCRS action this season alone. The customary AmeriFlex Hose and Accessories “Hard Charger” award went to Alex Sewell while Dan Schackenburg was the recipient of the Dyno Services of Oklahoma hard luck award.