Tony Stewart Claims PPMS All Star Run

Tony Stewart (14) battles Danny Holtgraver at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. (Paul Arch photo)

IMPERIAL, Pa. — Tony Stewart was in the right place at the right time to win Monday night’s Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions sprint car feature at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway.

Stewart, who owns the traveling sprint car series, started third and inherited the lead when Tim Shaffer tangled with a lapped car with eight laps remaining in the 30-lap event on the half-mile dirt track.

Stewart led the remainder of the distance to collect his second career All Star victory and first of the season. His previous All Star victory came on Feb. 11, 2012.

“Man, this is a fun race track; so wide and so racey,” Stewart said. “To be rim-riding like that, a foot off the wall, is pretty intense around here. I watched Christopher Bell race from 20th to second at the Kings Royal, so I figured it was my turn to do something special.”

Carson Macedo, who was the fast qualifier for the 30-car field with a lap of 17.502 seconds, came home second aboard the Helms No. 17.

Lee Jacobs finished third with reigning series champion and point leader Chad Kemenah fourth and Ryan Smith fifth.

Tony Stewart in victory lane Monday night at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. (Paul Arch photo)

Stewart said he got a little extra help from sprint car racer Rico Abreu.

“When I saw Lee Jacobs running the bottom, at that point I wasn’t sure where I needed to be,” Stewart explained. “Rico Abreu is here with me tonight and I had him trying to help me out, but he wasn’t sure where I needed to be. I figured if I got a good restart, I would just get to the top and rip eight good laps. That’s what we did.”

Also picking up victories were John Mollick in the RUSH Late Models and Jessica Kriegisch in the modifieds.

The finish:

Tony Stewart, Carson Macedo, Lee Jacobs, Chad Kemenah, Ryan Smith, Carl Bowser, Max Stambaugh, Brandon Matus, Justin Barger, Caleb Armstrong, Sye Lynch, Hunter Schuerenberg, Tyler Esh, Dan Kuriger, George Hobaugh, Brandon Spithaler, T.J. Michael, Sean Zemunik, Tim Shaffer, John Garvin, Hunter Mackison, Danny Holtgraver, Gary Kriess, Jordan Mackison.