Tim Shaffer Is Attica Ace

Tim Shaffer in victory lane at Attica Raceway Park. (Mike Campbell photo)
Tim Shaffer in victory lane at Attica Raceway Park. (Mike Campbell photo)

ATTICA, Ohio — Tim Shaffer earned his 18th career 410 win at Attica Raceway Park Friday night aboard Bryan Grove’s No. 28 sprint car.

“It’s pretty awesome. Hats off to Bryan Grove and the boys helping us. We had a blast together before it was just short on money…we used a lot of used tires,” Shaffer said. “This time we’re doing it right. We changed bars and stuff before the feature…we’re here to learn and the only way you’re going to learn is if you change things up and take chances and it paid off tonight.”

Shaffer held off Craig Mintz to win the 30-lap feature with Cap Henry, Cale Conley and Byron Reed rounding out the top five

Matt Miller didn’t race for the past year and half and it took him only a few laps to knock the rust off but it all came back and he drove the Rick DeLong late model to his 9th career Attica victory.

“We haven’t raced in like a year and a half so it took a little bit to knock the rust off. I can’t thank Rick DeLong enough….he does this all out of his own pocket. There’s nothing on the sides of this car. I was committed to the bottom. The sprint car guys built that ledge up there and it was treacherous. I saw Markham (Ryan) up there and it made me a little bit nervous but I just hit my marks and it worked out,” said Miller.

Paul Weaver held off mid race challenges from Brandon Moore and a late race charge from Kyle Peters to score his 50th career 305 sprint victory at Attica.

“Fifty more wins would be nice but I’m not Art Ball,” joked Weaver. “I was having fun and then I saw them racing underneath me I figured I have to race around the tires. If I had seen the 26 car (Jamie Miller) behind me I would have had to move up,” said Weaver beside his B&B Drain Service, Hampshire Racing Engines, M&L Excavating, Seagate Sandblasting, Weaver Performance backed machine.

The finish:

Feature  (30 Laps): 1. 28-Tim Shaffer[2] ; 2. 09-Craig Mintz[6] ; 3. 4-Cap Henry[8] ; 4. 3C-Cale Conley[1] ; 5. 5-Byron Reed[15] ; 6. 3J-Trey Jacobs[4] ; 7. 11-Zeb Wise[12] ; 8. 16-DJ Foos[7] ; 9. 15K-Chad Kemenah[16] ; 10. 68G-Tyler Gunn[22] ; 11. 5T-Travis Philo[14] ; 12. 83M-Broc Martin[10] ; 13. 27Z-Zane DeVault[21] ; 14. 8M-TJ Michael[23] ; 15. 35-Stuart Brubaker[11] ; 16. 23-Cole Macedo[19] ; 17. 41-Thomas Schinderle[20] ; 18. 1-Nate Dussel[18] ; 19. 9Z-Duane Zablocki[17] ; 20. 33W-Caleb Griffith[24] ; 21. 81-Lee Jacobs[3] ; 22. 14-Jared Horstman[13] ; 23. 4*-Tyler Street[5] ; 24. 25M-Chris Andrews[9]