Three First-Timers In NOW 600 Biggie

Bradley Fezard

INDEPENDENCE, Mo. — A trio of drivers became Lucas Oil National Open Wheel 600 Series presented by Hi-Plains Building Division feature winners for the first time on Saturday evening at KC Raceway.

Bradley Fezard, Xavier Doney and Collin Mitchell each recorded their first-ever national triumph with the series to cap the inaugural doubleheader at the bullring on a night that featured more than 100 entrants between the three premier divisions.

Fezard outlasted ninth-starting Doney to capture the 25-lap Stock Non-Wing feature victory, which propelled him into the lead in the championship standings. Bryant Wiedeman rounded out the podium with Colby Sokol finishing fourth and 20th-starting Timothy Watson III fifth.

Doney topped a field of 43 entrants to earn the Winged ‘A’ Class triumph. Harley Hollan posted a runner-up result with Skylar Rhoades ending third, Tyler Rennison fourth and 12th-starting Gage Laney fifth.

Mitchell bested eighth-starting Garrett Benson for the top spot in the Restricted ‘A’ Class main event.