Swindell Locks Up Iowa Speed Week Title


KNOXVILLE, Iowa – After night nine of the 2013 Cox Design & Metal Fabrication Iowa Speed Week, Kevin Swindell has clinched the point championship and the Jesse Hockett “Mr. Sprint Car” title that goes with it.

Night number 10 is Saturday with the 53rd FVP Knoxville Nationals finale at the famed Knoxville Raceway.

“As long as Kevin Swindell starts tomorrow night’s National Championship feature, in which he is already qualified, nobody else can catch him in the points. He is the 2013 Jesse Hockett ‘Mr. Sprint Car’ titlist,” said Iowa Speed Week point coordinator Tom Schmeh.

The unofficial top ten in the 2013 Cox Design Iowa Speed Week points after nine nights is as follows: 1., Kevin Swindell, 281 points; 2., Jason Johnson, Kyle Larson, 240 points (tie); 4., Brian Brown, 239 points; 5., Shane Stewart, 234 points; 6., Terry McCarl, 197 points; 7., Brad Sweet, 184 points; 8., Wayne Johnson, 182 points; 9., Justin Henderson, 179 points; 10., Danny Lasoski, 175 points.