Substitute Sanders Stars At Placerville

Justin Sanders rolls to a stop after winning Saturday at Placerville Speedway. (KWS photo)

PLACERVILLE, Calif. — Justin Sanders won the 30-lap King of West by NARC sprint car feature at Placerville Speedway on Saturday night.

Sanders was subbing for regular driver Tanner Thorson in the Tri-C Motorsports No. 3cwhile Thorson was racing in NASCAR.

The Aromas, California, hotshoe started on the outside front row and led all 30 laps while holding off a race long challenge from runner-up Shane Golobic. Golobic at times had his hands full of recent series winner Colby Copeland, who started next to Sanders on the pole. Completing the top five were Kyle Hirst and Bud Kaeding.

No one had anything for Sanders who took advantage of caution periods which opened the track up from lapped traffic just when it appeared the cars on the tight quarter-mile  oval might hinder his debut in the No. 3c.

Nathan Rolfe and D.J. Netto were both victims of flipping cars resulting in separate red flag stoppages. Rolfe brought out the red on lap 20 when he flipped in the third turn. On the restart, Netto flipped in almost the same spot.

Twenty-seven cars filled the pit area with Matt Dumesny setting fast time.

The finish:

Justin Sanders, Shane Golobic, Colby Copeland, Kyle Hirst, Bud Kaeding, Bobby McMahan, Chase Johnson, Sean Becker, Marcus Dumesny, Jason Statler, Dustin Golobic, Tanner Carrick, Andy Gregg, Sean Watts, Blake Carrick, Jenna Frazier, Richard Brace Jr., D.J. Netto, Nathan Rolfe, Jarrett Soares, C.J. Humphries, Tony Gualda