Stenhouse Rules Southern Raceway Sprint

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. won Friday night's USCS sprint car feature at Southern Raceway. (David Sink photo)
The United Sprint Car Series has released a hefty schedule for 2021. (David Sink photo)

MILTON, Fla. — Veteran NASCAR driver Ricky Stenhouse Jr. returned to his open-wheel roots on Friday night and won the USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour feature at Southern Raceway.

Stenhouse, who started seventh on the opening night of the Battle at the Beach, passed Hayden Campbell on the last lap to claim his first sprint car victory of the season.

Campbell finished second with Derek Hagar, Mark Smith and Conner Leoffler rounding out the top five in the 28-car field.

The finish:

Feature (25 laps): 1. 17JR-Ricky Stenhouse Jr[7]; 2. 5C-Hayden Campbell[1]; 3. 9JR-Derek Hagar[5]; 4. M1-Mark Smith[10]; 5. 22-Connor Leoffler[9]; 6. 18J-RJ Jacobs[2]; 7. 24-Terry McCarl[8]; 8. 4M-Michael Miller[4]; 9. 4-Danny Smith[11]; 10. 47-Dale Howard[16]; 11. 16B-Zane Devault[15]; 12. 43-Terry Witherspoon[13]; 13. 13-Chase Howard[19]; 14. 49-Mallie Shuster[21]; 15. 88N-Frank Neill[22]; 16. 20-Jim Shuster[20]; 17. (DNF) 28-Jeff Willingham[23]; 18. (DNF) 5-Justin Barger[6]; 19. (DNF) 14M-Michael Magic[18]; 20. (DNF) 10-Terry Gray[12]; 21. (DNF) 44-Ronny Howard[14]; 22. (DNF) 28M-Conner Morrell[3]; 23. (DNF) 29-Kyle Amerson[17]