Pittman Banks $20,000 At Oskaloosa

Daryn Pittman (83) races under Cory Eliason at Southern Iowa Speedway. (Paul Arch photo)
Daryn Pittman (83) races under Cory Eliason at Southern Iowa Speedway. (Paul Arch photo)

OSKALOOSA, Iowa — Daryn Pittman became the first four-time winner of the prestigious 24th annual Sage Fruit Front Row Challenge presented by Musco Lighting Monday night.

The Owasso, Okla., native cashed in $20,000 for his win aboard the Roth Motorsports No. 83. In addition, Pittman’s crew chief, Brent Ventura, was named Snap-On Tools “Mechanic of the Race,” good for an impact wrench set.

Jason Martin was victorious in the $1,000 to win IMCA Racesaver 305 sprint car main event.

Before a lap could be completed in the feature, Rusty Hickman went upside down.  He walked away. Finishing second to Cory Eliason in the $1,000 Keith Hutton Memorial “King of the Hill” Max presented by DeBerg Concrete, Pittman led from the outset of the 30-lapper. Early on, Pittman’s lead came ahead of Eliason and Carson Macedo.

Pittman pulled away from the field and entered lapped traffic by the seventh circuit.  Behind him, defending champion, Kyle Larson, was on the move. Larson took fourth from Ian Madsen on lap eight, and third from Macedo on lap 13.

Pittman’s lead at the halfway mark was 4.4 seconds over Eliason, and he had put five lapped cars between himself and second. Larson gained speed during the middle stages, grabbing second from Eliason on lap 16. Pittman kept cruising, however, and built his lead to 6.5 seconds with 10 laps to go.

Daryn Pittman in victory lane. (Frank Smith photo)
Daryn Pittman in victory lane. (Frank Smith photo)

Pittman rolled the bottom well.  Larson gained a little ground, trailing by 2.8 seconds with five to go, but he ran out of time chasing Pittman, who lapped up to 10th place.  Following Pittman and Larson were Eliason, Macedo and Brian Brown.

Pittman set quick time over the 31-car field, while Skylar Gee, Brock Zearfoss, Eliason and Shane Stewart were heat winners taking home plenty of contingencies, including $500 from Rudeen Racing.  Andrew Schuerle claimed the B main.

The finish:

Daryn Pittman, Kyle Larson, Cory Eliason, Carson Macedo, Brian Brown, Parker Price-Miller, Danny Dietrich, James McFadden, Shane Stewart, Dominic Scelzi, Mark Dobmeier, Skylar Gee, Marcus Dumesny, Travis Rilat, Shane Golobic, Trey Starks, Chase Johnson, Andrew Schuerle, Austin McCarl, Brock Zearfoss, Aaron Reutzel, Rusty Hickman.

Mobil 1 – the best choice for your Truck or SUV. Learn more about Mobil 1 Truck & SUV oil and enter for a chance to win a Toyota pickup or SUV at dirtgiveaway.com.