McMahan Ends Long All Star Drought

Paul McMahan in the Tom Buch Racing No. 13. (Chris Seelman Photo)

DUNDEE, N.Y. — For the first time since 2002, Paul McMahan won an Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 feature, leading all 30 circuits Friday night at Outlaw Speedway.

McMahan earned $5,000 for the victory aboard Tom Buch’s No. 13.

Danny Dietrich, who climbed eight positions during the 30-lap program, chased McMahan to the checkered flag, followed by Chad Kemenah, Aaron Reutzel and Trey Starks.

“I just want to thank my boss for allowing me to take time off of work to come here and race,” Paul McMahan said. “I owe this all to the guys standing behind me. It feels good to get back in All Star victory lane. This is my first time ever at Outlaw Speedway. It’s a cool, little track that offers a lot of racing room. I’m already looking forward to the next time we visit this place.”

After a pair of bad starts, one of which the result of red flag conditions involving West Virginia’s Cale Conley, main event action was finally underway at Outlaw Speedway with Paul McMahan earning the early advantage. Parker Price-Miller chased McMahan to the flagstand for the first time, followed by Brock Zearfoss and Chad Kemenah.

The main event would go caution-free for eight circuits until motor problems consumed Price-Miller, forced to retire to the pit area on lap nine after a short stint in the runner-up position.

During the same caution, Brock Zearfoss also had problems, losing a right-rear tire while battling within the top-five. Although forced to go to the work area, the Jonestown, Pa., native would soon rejoin the field on the speedway.

The green flag waved for Paul McMahan for two more circuits until caution flags appeared for the final time on lap 11, this time for a bundle of cars that made contact at the entrance of turn one. All drivers involved, including Brock Zearfoss who just returned to the speedway, walked away unharmed.

From that point forward, main event action went undisturbed. McMahan continued to lead the pack, now with Chad Kemenah, Danny Dietrich and Dave Blaney on his heels. Dietrich worked around Kemenah on the following circuit to take the runner-up spot officially on lap 12, soon followed by Dave Blaney who also worked by Kemenah to take third officially on lap 14.

Slower cars came into the picture for the first time just beyond the midpoint of the 30-lapper forcing McMahan to maneuver off of his preferred line around the bottom of the speedway. Even when traffic started to intensify near the end of the main event, McMahan kept his advantage over the other front-runners by utilizing the top of turns one and two and the very bottom of turns three and four.

“This car was working from top to bottom,” McMahan continued. “Traffic really didn’t seem to slow us up at all. I was able to move around them without any trouble. When you can move around like that pretty flawlessly, it’s easy to build confidence and race hard. I’m proud of all of these guys. Hopefully we can do it again tomorrow at Stateline Speedway.”

A near-five lap battle for the runner-up spot between Dietrich and Blaney during laps 22 through 26 ended in Dietrich’s favor as Blaney would clip an inside tire forcing the Premier Motorsports entry to retire to the infield.

Although moving in within a half-straightaway of McMahan, Dietrich would be forced to settle for second, followed by six-time and defending All Star champion Kemenah, at the line.


The finish:

Paul McMahan, Danny Dietrich, Chad Kemenah, Aaron Reutzel, Trey Starks, Tony Stewart, Ryan Smith, Carson Macedo, Jac Haudenschild, Jared Zimbardi, Justin Barger, Carl Bowser, Gerard McIntyre, John Garvin, Joe Trenca, Mitchell Wormall, Joe Kata, Brandon Spithaler, Tyler Esh, Dave Blaney, Brock Zeaross, Parker Price-Miller, Cale Conley.