Veal Wins, But Milburn Is Premier Champ


WARRNAMBOOL, Australia — The Eureka Garages and Sheds Sprintcar Series came to a thrilling conclusion with the incumbent points leader, Brett Milburn was forced to come via the B-Main in the Series finale, before claiming the 2016-17 Crown by just nine points or one A-Main position after an enthralling night of racing.

The 30-lap A-Main event was won by Jamie Veal who ran the Premier Speedway wall to perfection before switching to a preferred low line groove in the second half of the final, holding of a determined Grant Anderson, who once again showed why he is regarded as a genuine star of the Sprintcar division, especially on a slick and smooth surface such as that laid down tonight at Sungold Stadium.

Darren Mollenoyux’s amazing run of form continued with yet another impressive drive, finishing third, with Jack Lee also producing a strong night at the office with a fourth-place finish.

Amazingly the top four drivers were all out of contention for the Eureka Series Championship, so when Tim Van Ginneken appeared in fifth and needing to finish seven positions clear of Milburn to snatch the Championship be one single point, the head count was on in earnest.

With Milburn, having started from position 14 on the grid and Van Ginneken from 10, it was Van Ginneken who had to try and run and hide and to a degree he did, making his way to fifth by mid race distance, but once he reached that point, the margin between he and fourth placed Jack Lee barely changed.

So, with Veal and Anderson continuing to slice their way through lap traffic, it was Veal who held sway at the fall of the checkered flag leading home Anderson and Mollenoyux, with Lee and Van Ginneken rounding out the top five.


Young South Aussie Jake Tranter impressed as he finished in sixth, while Corey McCullagh would once again claim a top ten finish, with a seventh place run ahead of fellow top ten finishers Ian Loudoun, David Murcott and Brayden Parr.

Brett Milburn was officially credited with 11th, being enough to clinch the Eureka Series, while Tim Rankin 12th, Glen Sutherland 13th, Rusty Hickman 14th, Daniel Sayre 15th, Charles Hunter 16th, Jacob Smith 17th and Tim Hutchins 18th rounded out the field.