8 Elected To National Sprint Car Hall Of Fame

Including drivers Dave Darland, Tony Elliott and Terry McCarl


KNOXVILLE, Iowa — The National Sprint Car Hall of Fame announced this year’s class of eight that will be inducted into the Hall of Fame June 3 in Knoxville, Iowa.

The class is led by non-winged sprint car drivers Dave Darland and Tony Elliott as well as multi-time Knoxville Raceway track champion Terry McCarl.

Darland, known as “The People’s Champion,” has won titles in all three USAC national divisions as well as many of the country’s biggest short-track races.

Elliott, a non-winged sprint car and midget driver with countless victories, was killed in a plane crash in 2015.

McCarl continues to be a regular winged sprint car competitor in the Upper Midwest and in addition to his success on the regional level has won races with the World of Outlaws and the All Star Circuit of Champions.

Elected in the Owners-Mechanics-Builders-Manufacturers-Car Sponsors category were Guy Forbrook and John Singer.

The Promoters-Officials-Media Members-Event/Series Sponsors category saw the election of Sprint Car & Midget Editor Doug Auld and writer, announcer and historian W. Pat Sullivan.

Earl Cooper was elected to the Hall of Fame from the pre-1945 category.

“I know I say this every year, but we truly are very proud of the work done by our 72-member National Induction Committee,” said National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum Foundation executive director Bob Baker. “I think we have a great group of inductees this year, with most being honored in their lifetime.  We look forward to our twenty-eighth induction banquet on the Marion County Fairgrounds in Knoxville, Iowa, on June 3.”