Sprintacular Closing Out Eldora Season


ROSSBURG, Ohio – A smorgasbord of Sprint Car racing will close out Eldora Speedway’s 60th season of racing Saturday night in grand style with the UNOH Sprintacular.

The bountiful menu includes three touring sanctioning bodies (All Star Sprints, NRA Sprint Invaders, BOSS Sprints), winged (All Stars, NRA) and non-winged (BOSS) Sprint Cars, engine sizes of 410 (All Stars, BOSS) and 360 cubic inches (NRA) and two season-ending point chases (All Stars, BOSS).

Of the three groups, the All Star Sprints have the most storied history. Since Brad Doty won their debut on May 3, 1981, the All Stars have competed an additional 131 times, with 41 different drivers advancing to victory lane. Headlining that list is Kenny Jacobs with 21 triumphs, followed in order by Joey Saldana with 11 and the groups most recent Eldora winner (June 22), Jac Haudenschild with eight.

The 360 Sprint division came on the scene in 1994, and after swapping around sanctioning bodies over the first five years, the NRA Sprint Invaders was established as the group of choice in 1999. Since the April 23, 1994 debut won by Rick Daugherty, the 360 Sprints have contested 114 feature events, with 36 different drivers sharing victory honors. Tim Allison heads up that list with 14 checkered flags, while Phil Gressman sits closely behind at 13 wins and Kyle Sauder rests in third with 11.

For the upstart BOSS (Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series) group, this will be their second Eldora appearance. The three-year old group made their Eldora debut during last year’s Blue Collar Base, with Luke Hall taking home that win.