Spring Classic Belongs To Kreitz


NEWBERRYTOWN, Pa. — Donnie Kreitz took the victory in the fifth annual Sprint Car Spring Classic at the Susquehanna Speedway Park on Sunday night.

Blaine Heimbach took the early lead in the 410 sprint car 25-lapper. As Heimbach set the pace of the race, with Lance Dewease and Danny Hotgraver in tow, Kreitz began picking of positions from seventh starting spot. On lap seven, Kreitz moved past Holtgraver to claim third. At the midway point, Kreitz passed Dewease for second.

A caution flag on lap 14 negated the lead that Heimbach had built. With Krietz restarting on Heimbach’s rear bumper, Heimbach took off as the green flag waved.

On lap 18, Kreitz slid in front of Heimbach coming out of turn four to take the lead.  However, Heimbach pursued Kreitz into lapped traffic as the laps wound down.  With two laps to go, Heimbach made his move going into three and four, but was unable to complete the pass.

Kreitz went on to take the victory over Heimbach with Lance Dewease finishing third. This was Kreitz’s 30th career SSP victory putting him five wins away from all-time open wheel SSP feature win leader Johnny Mackison Sr. at 35 wins.

Out-of-staters Trey Starks and Danny Holtgraver finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Tyler Ross collected the 358 sprint car 20 lapper.