It’s All Spencer Bayston At Muskingum County

Spencer Bayston (Paul Arch photo)

DRESDEN, Ohio — Spencer Bayston won his second Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions feature of the season Thursday night during round six of Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket at Muskingum County Speedway.

Aboard Kevin Swindell’s Premier Truck Group/John Christner Trucking/No. 39, Bayston led all 30 circuits, manhandling multiple waves of intense traffic, as well as an aggressive cushion at the top of the speedway, to clinch his first Arctic Cat All Star win since April. Fellow Indiana native Caleb Armstrong finished second, followed by Chad Kemenah, Tim Shaffer and Cole Duncan.

“I’m going to get most of the credit here tonight, but the people who really deserve the credit are the ones standing behind me,” Bayston said. “This is a brand-new race car. We rolled one over the other night at Wayne County Speedway, so we’ve been up until about four in the morning the last few nights working to get this one ready. Kevin and Jordan [Swindell], the whole crew; they all work so hard and make all of this happen. Without them, I wouldn’t be standing up here.”

Bayston’s 30-lap campaign at the front of the field started from the pole position, taking command right from the drop of the green flag over Caleb Armstrong and two-time Speedweek winner Tim Shaffer.

Two early caution flags, the first on lap five and the second on lap ten, were the only two momentum breakers for Bayston, but neither created any sort of distraction. Bayston’s lead was nearly three seconds on multiple occasions even while racing in traffic, and despite having to deal with dirty air, the Indiana native hardly faltered.

“We got to dirty air in traffic and my whole race changed it felt like,” Bayston said. “I had to kinda drive above [the cushion] a couple times, but it almost didn’t work for me because I nearly looped it. Despite all of that, I never really felt any pressure, so I was able to just cruise and bring it home.”

Caleb Armstrong’s runner-up finish was a season-high for the New Castle, Ind., native. The second year Arctic Cat All Star traveler started second on the feature grid and battled in that position all 30 laps. Chad Kemenah, the current Arctic Cat All Star championship point leader, charged from 11th to finish third.

The finish:

Spencer Bayston, Caleb Armstrong, Chad Kemenah, Tim Shaffer, Cole Duncan, Ryan Smith, Cale Conley, Tyler Esh, Max Stambaugh, D.J. Foos, Brandon Spithaler, Lee Jacobs, Sammy Walsh, Parker Price-Miller, Danny Smith, Carson Macedo, Michael Bauer, Caleb Helms, John Garvin, Bryan Nuckles, Cale Thomas, Jordan Ryan, Brandon Matus, Danny Dietrich, Andrew Palker.