Schatz Voted Top 410 Sprint Racer Again

Donny Schatz will be looking for another Knoxville Nationals and World of Outlaws title in 2018. (Mike Campbell Photo)

TULSA, Okla. – For the 10th time in his career, Donny Schatz of Fargo, N.D., was voted the Driver of the Year by the North American 410 Sprint Car Poll voting panel of media members, promoters, sanctioning officials and manufacturers.

The 2017 World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series champion earned 17 of the 20 first-place ballots cast in the year-end poll. David Gravel earned the other three first place votes.

Those drivers ranked second through fifth, respectively, are David Gravel, Brad Sweet, Shane Stewart and Kerry Madsen. Rounding out the top-10 for the season, respectively, are Daryn Pittman, Lance Dewease, All Star Circuit of Champions titlist Chad Kemenah, Kyle Larson and Jason Johnson.

For the first time, the CJB Motorsports No. 5 team will receive the Team of the Year Award based on their strong season with Gravel behind the wheel.

Larson will receive the Wild Card Award (his sixth overall between 410, 360 and non-wing categories) for his exciting 410 sprint car performances in 2017. California’s Giovanni Scelzi joins his brother Dominic (2013) as a Rookie of the Year Award recipient in the 410 division of the North American Sprint Car Poll. Giovanni was the 360 Rookie of the Year in 2016.

Steve O’Neal of Port Royal Speedway earned Promoter of the Year honors for the second year in a row. Max Papis of Max Papis Innovations and Jack and Bonnie Elam of J&J Enterprises (their 13th such award) will share Builder/Manufacturer of the Year honors for the 410 poll.

The Media Member of the Year Award will again go to Steve Post of the MAVTV/MRN Winged Nation show. This is the sixth consecutive season that Post has been honored either in the 410 or 360 Polls.