Scelzi Wins, Furr Is Ocean Champion

Dominic Scelzi (41) races under Brad Furr Friday night at Ocean Speedway. (Joe Shivak photo)

WATSONVILLE, Calif. — Dominic Scelzi won the 30-lap Taco Bravo 360 Series feature at Ocean Speedway on Friday night.

The Fresno, Calif., driver drove the Scelzi Motorsports No. 41s to victory over Justin Sanders and Brad Furr on championship night at the Santa Cruz County Fairgrounds oval.

Earlier in the evening, Furr was crowned this season’s champion, becoming the only driver to win the crown three times in its 11-year history.

Scelzi started sixth in the 20-car field but found his way around both Sanders and Furr before the race’s halfway point. The race was only slowed twice and both times by a spinning Wayne Katen. His white No. 99 spun off the fourth turn at the race’s halfway point.

He was also charged with bringing out the caution on lap 26 when he attempted to avoid the slowing car of Nathan Schank. The two-caution rule eliminated Katen from the contest.

The late-race caution gave Sanders a shot at Scelzi but he could only get to the leader’s rear bumper before Scelzi pulled ahead for the final three laps.

Rounding out the top five were Bud Kaeding and Kurt Nelson. Jeremy Chisum won the dash over Nelson setting up the front row for the feature.

The finish:

Dominic Scelzi, Justin Sanders, Brad Furr, Bud Kaeding, Kurt Nelson, Buddy Kofoid, Kyle Offill, Jeremy Chisum, Jason Chisum, Danny Faria, Tucker Worth, Koen Shaw, Vaughn Schott, Evan Bonnema, Jake Haulot, James Ringo, Bradley Dillard, Nathan Schank, Wayne Katen, Richard Fajardo.