Santos Rules Irwindale King Of The Wing Finale

Bobby Santos on his way to victory Sunday night at Irwindale Speedway. (David Sink Photo)
Bobby Santos on his way to victory at Irwindale Speedway. (David Sink photo)

IRWINDALE, Calif. – Bobby Santos III finished his King of the Wing season the same way he started it, with a victory on Sunday night at Irwindale Speedway.

Santos took the lead from Monty Bergener on lap 13 and never looked back. The win was his eighth consecutive in King of the Wing competition dating back to 2018.

Justin Segura lead the opening eight laps, with Bergener and Santos in tow. Prior to lap eight, smoke began to come from Segura’s mount, forcing King of the Wing officials to call for the caution and inspect the race leader’s smoking car.

It was confirmed Segura was throwing oil on the track and Segura was forced out of the event. Once the race resumed it didn’t take Santos long to take the top spot when he went to the high side of Bergener on lap 13. Santos then went on to lead the final 17 circuits uncontested for his sixth King of the Wing victory of the season and a clean sweep of the King of the Wing tour through California to close out the season.

“It feels good to close the year out like this,” explained Santos in victory lane. ”We had a good car all weekend. My crew worked really hard. I love coming out to the west coast and racing. Irwindale Speedway is my favorite track in the country. Love being here.”

Following Santos to the stripe was Eric Humphries and A.J. Russell. Humphries clinched his second consecutive King of the Wing championship with his runner-up effort.

Sunday’s win was the ninth pavement sprint car victory of the season for Santos. He now finds himself in a tie with Troy DeCaire for the national pavement sprint car wins total on the season. Santos indicated he has no plans to compete in anymore events this year.

The finish:

Bobby Santos III, Eric Humphries, A.J. Russell, Audra Sasselli, Ron Larson, Monty Bergener, Richie Larson, Cameron Neisinger, Hunter Stanley, Alan Beck, Mike Anderson, Justin Segura.