Sanders Tops Chico’s Brownell Memorial

Justin Sanders (Joe Shivak photo)

CHICO, Calif. — Justin Sanders won the 30-lap Brownell Memorial at the Silver Dollar Speedway on Friday night.

The Aramos, Calif., driver led all 30 laps after starting on the pole in the North County Plastering/Andy’s Construction yellow No. 121. Sanders fended off several challenges from Shane Golobic who had to settle for the runner-up spot.

Tim Kaeding would charge from the eighth starting spot to finish third just ahead of Mitchell Faccinto. Bud Kaeding’s No. 0 finished fifth after starting deep in the field.

Dominic Scelzi spun in the fourth turn on the opening lap forcing a complete restart.  Sanders had passed polesitter Geoff Ensign but the start was negated. With Scelzi put to the rear of the field, Ensign got a poor restart and Sanders was able to take the lead.

His yellow No. 121 started lapping the back markers by lap five. The race was slowed however two laps later when Richard Brace Jr.’s engine let go in the fourth turn. He would be the first car out the race.

Golobic had moved his Matt Wood Racing No. 17w into the second spot but another spin by Scelzi would bring out the yellow flag again. The lap-seven slowdown allowed Ensign to pit and return for repairs but Sean Watts’ night was over. Sanders got a poor restart allowing Golobic to momentarily slip past him but Sanders regained the lead with a slide job in the third and fourth turns.

The track would go red for a flip by Jason Stalter who sailed off the third turn with a series of hard rolls. After the restart, the two Kaeding Brothers, Tim and Bud, put on a show as once again Sanders took advantage of a clear track for a few laps.

Golobic would make it a close race, but could only get to Sander’s rear bumper as the two crossed the finish line, nose to tail.

Thirty-two 410 sprint cars filled the pit area.

The finish:

Justin Sanders, Shane Golobic, Tim Kaeding, Mitchell Faccinto, Bud Kaeding, D.J. Netto, Sean Becker, Dominic Scelzi, Willie Croft, Cole Macedo, Ryan Bernal, Andy Forsberg, Geoff Ensign, Kyle Offill, Blake Carrick, Colby Copeland, Stephen Ingraham, Jason Statler, Sean Watts, Richard Brace Jr.