Sanders Romps In Marysville Sprint

Justin Sanders en route to victory at Marysville Raceway. (Joe Shivak photo)

MARYSVILLE, Calif. — Justin Sanders piloted Mike Phelps potent No. 56 sprint to victory in the 25-lap tribute to the Toller Family at Marysville Raceway on Saturday night.

The Watsonville, Calif., shoe picked up $2,500 for the win by edging out Andy Forsberg and Billy Wallace.

Tanner Carrick and Dustin Freitas brought the 22-car starting field to the green but the cars didn’t make it past the backstretch before the race’s first caution flag waved. Kurt Nelson caught the outside wall and sustained enough damage to end his night.

The race restarted and went two laps before the yellow caution lights came on when several cars got loose in the first turn but it was William Fielding who would spin and Kyle Hirst who stopped on the track after contact with the group. Both cars were able to continue.

Soon after the restart Carrick’s car suffered a front suspension failure while running second and slowed in front of the full field. His race was over putting Freitas alone in front of Sanders and Forsberg. The two veterans made short order of the youngster and it looked like the makings of a two-car race.

The caution slowed the race on lap seven when Colby Copeland hit the backstretch wall in about the same spot as Nelson. The first race for Copeland in the Larry Antaya Motorsports car ended early. Two laps later Fielding and Zane Blanchard touched wheels giving both cars flat tires and forcing them to the pit area.

Lap 12 saw a caution for Michael Ing and Pat Harvey Jr. who spun in the first turn. Freitas would bring out the yellow flag on lap 17 when he stopped on backstretch.

Sanders and Forsberg were the class of the field at this point with Sanders winning by a half straightaway margin.

Kaleb Henry won the 25 lap Joe Hunt Magneto Wingless Sprint Series feature and Monty Ferriera won the IMCA West Coast RaceSaver 305 main event.

The finish:

Justin Sanders, Andy Forsberg, Billy Wallace, Sean Becker, Shane Golobic, Jeremy Hawes, Cody Hodgson, Lucas Ashe, Michael Ing, Mike Monahan, Justin Henry, Pat Harvey Jr., Kyle Hirst, Korey Lovell, Dustin Freitas, Zane Blanchard, Buddy Kofoid, Colby Copeland, Tanner Carrick, Steven Tiner and Kurt Nelson