Rislone Nationals Next For URC Sprints


MECHANICSBURG, Pa. – Just four points separate Davie Franek and J.J. Grasso in the 2013 Rislone URC Sprint Series point chase with the prestigious Rislone Nationals up next at the Williams Grove Speedway Friday night.

Franek is looking for his first URC title and came so close in 2012, finishing runner-up to Robbie Stillwaggon. This year, Franek again leads the points and his nearest challenger is former champion Grasso. Driving the Ken Eldreth Construction sprint car, Grasso is hot off an impressive and dominating victory on Friday night at the Potomac Speedway. But all eyes are focused this weekend on the prestigious Rislone Nationals at the Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night.

The Rislone Nationals is rich in history and the eighth running of this event is expected to again draw some of the best names in sprint car racing. Past winners include Tony Stewart (2012), Lance Dewease (2011), Daryn Pittman (2010), Aaron Ott (2009), Kenny Adams (2008), Ed Aikin (2007) and the winner of the inaugural running of the event, Pat Cannon, the winner in 2006. $4,000 will go to the winner of the twenty-five lap National event with $1,000 being paid for tenth and $325 offered just to start the main event.

From the URC stables, Grasso, Josh Weller, Franek, Ed Aikin, Chad Trout and Kramer Williamson all have their eye on winning this one. The event takes place at the most recognized sprint car track in the country (Williams Grove Speedway) and is sanctioned the nation’s oldest traveling sprint car organization.

On Saturday night, the Rislone URC sprints move to the Lincoln Speedway in Abbottstown, Pa., for the URC/358 Challenge. The 25 lap feature will pay $2,000 to the winner with $200 offered just to start the main event.