Reinke Ends Two Year IRA Sprint Drought


WILMOT, Wis. – It had been a long time coming.

Mike Reinke took advantage of a late race restart and powered past Russel Borland to capture the Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Series Roger Iles Memorial event at Wilmot Raceway. In doing so, Reinke broke a two-year dry spell, and collected the top prize of $3,600 in the process.

Though sometimes frustrated with his own performances, Reinke has had an amazing number of solid showings since his last victory. He last stood in victory lane on June 2, 2012 at Cedar Lake Speedway. Since then he had posted six runner-up performances, and finished in the top five an amazing 30 times. Reinke was due for victory, it was just a matter of time, and after the checkered flag fell it was pure redemption as he saluted the crowd from the wing of his car.

To take the win, Reinke had to overtake Russel Borland who was having the best performance of his career. Borland had paced the first 30 laps of a 36 lap contest. The race had an extreme number of restarts, and each time Borland stood tall to the challenges. It was the final restart with just six laps to go, that someone was finally able to replace Borland at the head of the pack. That person was Reinke who used a well timed restart to secure the lead, and pace the final six circuits taking the win by a dozen car lengths.

“I don’t even know what to say right. To win here is amazing to me. I don’t usually get around here very good,” claimed Reinke. “I know we had some attrition which helped but we were pretty good. I hated robbing Russel (Borland) of his first win but it’s man been a long tome time since I won. I have to thank my crew and sponsors for this and my family, they are always there cheering for me no matter what.”

Borland’s efforts resulted in a career best second place run and he was almost overcome with emotion as his teams efforts were rewarded with such a solid performance. To earn second Borland was able to fend off the challenges of six-time champion Bill Balog.

“I really have to thank the crew they have worked so hard lately, we’ve been off so much. This is amazing. We really needed a confidence booster and this was it,” said Borland.

Balog settled for third, followed by Bill Rose and Scott Uttech.

The finish:

Mike Reinke, Russel Borland, Bill Balog, Bill Rose, Scott Uttech, Scotty Neitzel, Scott Biertzer, Sheldon Haudenschild, Raymond Hensley, Dennis Spitz, Kris Spitz, Trey Datweiler, Blake Nimee, Todd Hepfner, Jordan Goldesberry, Bill Wirth, Ben Schmidt, Patrick Hayes, Todd Daun, Wayne Modjeski, Chris Dodd, Dave Uttech.

Previous articleEventful Night Of Racing At Plymouth
Next articleProck Stars In Kalamazoo Pavement Run is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.