From Pole To Victory For Paul Nienhiser

Paul Nienhiser in victory lane at Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway. (Mark Funderburk photo)

LINCOLN, Ill. — With 35 cars signed in to compete with the Built Ford Tough MOWA Sprint Car Series Delivered by Morrow Brothers Ford, it was guaranteed to be a great night of racing at Lincoln Speedway.

Paul Nienhiser started on the pole of the 25-lap feature and despite a late race charge from Travis Philo and Joe B. Miller, he came out on top, picking up his second win of the season.

Nienhiser and Jeremy Standridge made up the front row and Nienhiser jumped to an early lead and showed that he would be tough all night long.

Becoming quite familiar with the turn-two cushion, Nienhiser’s No. 9xmachine bounced through the holes and while it looked as if his night would end early as he made slight contact with the turn-two wall, he powered away from the field.

Maneuvering a car through lapped traffic takes patience, and after an incident at Macon Speedway on Thursday night, Nienhiser was well aware of what he had to do.

Slowly picking off cars one by one, he built a commanding lead. Philo, who started the race in fourth picked up two positions, finishing second, with Joe B. Miller, who started 17th, third.

Nienhiser scored his second win of the season, with the other coming at Jacksonville Speedway. Point leader Jacob Patton finished fourth, with Joey Moughan fifth.

The finish:

Paul Nienhiser, Travis Philo, Joe B. Miller, Jacob Patton, Joey Moughan, Justin Peck, Zack Daum, Mike Terry Jr., Jeremy Standridge, Justin Standridge, Kris Spitz, Logan Faucon, Brian Paulus, Brayden Fox, Jordan Goldesberry, Jay Waugh, Aaron Andruskevitch, Nathan Charron, Steve Short, Chris Urish, Cory Bruns, Landon Simon.