Peck Romps From 8th For MOWA Score

Justin Peck (Brendon Bauman photo)

PEVELY, Mo. — Eighth-starting Justin Peck took advantage of a late-race caution flag to pick up his first career feature win with the Built Ford Tough MOWA Sprint Car Series delivered by Morrow Brothers Ford Saturday night at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55.

Polesitter Chase Stockon jumped to the early race lead, with Thomas Meseraull in tow. Fifth starting Ryan Robinson and Joe B. Miller (sixth) charged to the front early, chasing down the leaders. A yellow flag on lap 12 for Jeremy Standridge at the flagstand slowed the field for the first of four cautions, with Jordan Goldesberry and Meseraull nearly missing Standridge.

Refiring at lap 12, Ryan Robinson led the field back to green. Two yellows, one at lap 16 for Chase Stockon who retired early with engine troubles and lap 18 for Brinton Marvel slowed the field once again. Robinson was able to hold onto his lead until a lap 23 yellow for Dylan Tuxhorn, who made contact with the infield concrete retaining wall.

Once Tuxhorn’s No. 9t machine was hauled to the pit area, Robinson led the field to green for what was the final restart. With Justin Peck in tow, Robinson knew he had to give it all that he had to hold onto the top position.

Coming to the white flag, Peck was able to slide past Robinson, who continued to fade in the rundown. Peck had a two-second advantage over second-running Jason Keith as he set his sights the checkered flag. Peck crossed under the checkered 2.510 seconds ahead of second place Jason Keith. Joe B. Miller, Jim Moughan and Jordan Goldesberry completed the top five.

“It really stinks that Ryan had to run out of fuel on that final restart, but sometimes its better to be lucky than good – and I just happened to be in the right place at the right time. It was nice to pick up the win and get the ball rolling on the season,” said Peck.

The finish:

Justin Peck, Jason Keith, Joe B. Miller, Jim Moughan, Jordan Goldesberry, Jacob Patton, Logan Faucon, Jimmy Bridgeman, Dustin Barks, Ryan Robinson, Steve Short, Mike Terry Jr., Brayden Fox, Dylan Tuxhorn, Adam Carlyon, Chuck Walker, Brinton Marvel, Chase Stockon, Thomas Meseraull, Jeremy Standridge, Paul Hart, Ryan Jamison.