Patton Breaks Through In MOWA Sprints

Jacob Patton earned his first MOWA victory Thursday at Macon Speedway. (Mark Funderburk photo)

MACON, Ill. — Polesitter and current point leader Jacob Patton wore his fifth-mile smile Thursday as the Built Ford Tough MOWA Sprint Car Series invaded Macon Speedway.

Patton jumped to the early race lead and quickly was into lapped traffic by lap four. Manuvering his way through traffic, sixth-starting Paul Nienhiser muscled his way past Jacob Patton, on was credited with leading the seventh circuit, only to see a yellow flag through over the field on lap eight as Scotty Thiel came to a stop in turns three and four.

Nienhiser and Patton led the field back to the green with Nienhiser getting a jump on the start. He began to pull away from the field in dominating fashion, and was in lapped traffic once again.

Nienhiser ran high and low trying to work past lapped cars. As he exited turn four for lap 19, Nienhiser collided with Ben Wagoner, sending both cars spinning, and unfortunately sending himself to the tail of the field.

Patton regained the lead once again, as Nienhiser went pitside, retiring early. The field was slowed at the continuation of lap 19 for Landon Simon who slowed in turns three and four, setting up a five-lap shootout to the checkered flag.

Joe B. Miller, who started ninth was worked his way forward into the top three with five laps to go. Miller gave it one final attempt to slide past Patton entering turns one and two, but was unable to complete the move.

Patton went onto to pick up his first MOWA victory, ahead of Joe B. Miller, Justin Peck, Ryan Jamison and Zach Daum.

Trent Young won the 100-lap modified feature, while Dakota Ewing bested the crate late model main event.

The finish:

Jacob Patton, Joe B. Miller, Justin Peck, Ryan Jamison, Zach Daum, Terry Babb, Justin Standridge, Brinton Marvel Cory Bruns, Chris Urish, Mike Terry Jr., Logan Faucon, Jay Waugh, Ben Wagoner, Kris Spitz, John Parker, Brady Barker, Landon Simon, Paul Nienhiser, Brian Paulus, Scotty Thiel, Jeremy Standridge.