Parkinson Claims WAR Sprint Honors

Chris Parkinson in victory lane Friday at Humboldt (Kan.) Speedway. (WAR photo)
Chris Parkinson in victory lane Friday at Humboldt (Kan.) Speedway. (WAR photo)
Chris Parkinson in victory lane Friday at Humboldt (Kan.) Speedway. (WAR photo)

HUMBOLDT, Kan. — Taking over the lead on lap 22, Chris Parkinson picked up his second career WAR Sprint Series presented by Impact Signs, Awnings, and Wraps win Friday night at Humboldt Speedway.

Cody Baker took control early from his pole starting position as John Helm and Mitchell Moore battled closely for second. Baker extended his lead as Moore and Parkinson had a nice battle for the runner-up spot. On lap 10, with Baker still in control, Parkinson was able to get by Moore for second.

As Baker continued to lead comfortably, Moore kept second running Parkinson in his sights. At this point, John Helm was fourth and Chad Goff in fifth.

Baker was in control when disaster struck on lap 17. Chris Desselle spun at the bottom of turn four. Baker, who had been running the bottom, could not avoid Desselle and collided with him ending both drivers’ evening. During the yellow, disaster also struck for second running Moore as he pulled into the pits with a flat tire. Before his tire could be changed, action resumed ending Moore’s evening.

With Parkinson setting the pace on the restart, Helm got a great start and was able to get by the Gladstone, MO driver as Goff also worked his way past. By lap twenty, Parkinson was able to mount another charge and worked his way back past Goff. A couple of laps later, Parkinson would work his way past Helm and would go on to the $800 victory in his 54th Street Grill and Bar/Ozarks Barge and Dock Service No. 65. Helm would hold on to second in his Vee Village Eagle. Goff would come home a solid third in his B&D Racing DRC. Kevin Risley was a strong fourth in his Risley Trash Service Maxim with Devon Huff rounding out the top five in his Lawrence Photo Twister.

The finish:

Chris Parkinson, John Helm, Chad Goff, Kevin Risley, Devon Huff, Josh Stephens, Bob Thoman, Dylan Kadous, Taylor Walton, Steven Cross, Jeff Wingate, Cody Baker, Mitchell Moore, Chris Deselle.