Ott Doubles His URC Fun At Selinsgrove


SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Aaron Ott came to Selinsgrove Speedway Saturday night with one goal – to win.  Consider that goal accomplished.

Ott scored his second victory of the weekend in Rislone URC Sprint Series competition and fourth of his career Saturday during the 30-lap Jack Gunn Memorial, pocketing $3,500 for his efforts. He also won Friday’s URC event at Williams Grove Speedway in Mechanicsburg, Pa.

A field of 29 cars took part in time trials with Derek Locke turning a time of 17.287 at an average speed of 110.289. Three heat race events were presented with victories going to Brian Carber, Ryan Kissinger and Cody Keller as Joe Trenca won the “B” Main.

In the 30 lap Jack Gunn Memorial, it looked like it could be a URC night to dominate with Robbie Stillwaggon and Davie Franek on the front row. As the green flag waved Stillwaggon took the lead and immediately put some distance between himself and runner-up Franek. On lap three Stillwaggon broke and came to a stop in turn four.

On the restart, it was Franek setting the pace with Greg Hodnett now in the chase followed by T.J. Stutts. Hodnett tried to reel in Franek, but before too long Hodnett found himself in a fight for second Ott.

Ott moved into second on lap 11 and he quickly began to reel in Franek. As the field passed for the halfway sign, Ott was the leader followed by Franek, Hodnett, Stutts and Curt Michael. Stutts, now racing in third, started to hunt down Franek and on lap 22 Stutts was second with Franek third.

With two laps remaining, Ott was far ahead of his nearest competitor. Stutts followed in second with Hodnett third, Mark Smith fourth and Pat Cannon was now in fifth. Ott crossed the finish line all alone with Stutts finishing a distant second as Mark Smith finished third, Hodnett fourth and Pat Cannon fifth.

The finish:Aaron Ott, T.J. Stutts, Mark Smith, Greg Hodnett, Pat Cannon, Davie Franek, Curt Michael, Brock Zearfoss, Josh Weller, Larry Kelleher, Justin Barger, Michael Walter II, Ryan Kissinger, Bobby Parrow, Colby Womer, Joe Trenca, Jordan Thomas, Will Eggimann, Derek Steward, Ed Aikin, Cody Keller, Brian Carber, Randy West, Robbie Stillwaggon, Brad Franks DNQ- – Derek Steward, Troy Betts, Jason Shultz, Andy Best.