Olson Cops First Xtreme Triumph

Brian Olson in victory lane Saturday night at Mobile Int'l Speedway.
Brian Olson in victory lane Saturday night at Mobile Int'l Speedway.

IRVINGTON, Ala. — Brian Olson took advantage of a front row starting position to claim his first TRUFUEL Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series feature victory Saturday night at Mobile Int’l Speedway.

Olson piloted the Davey Hamilton Racing TRUFUEL entry into victory lane and collected $3,000 for his efforts.

The evening started off with a bang when six cars went below Kevin Swindell’s track record of 14.487 seconds set in 2005.

Todd Fayard collected the $500 bonus when he emerged as the new track record holder with a lap of 13.919 seconds.

Polesitter Jacob Wilson, lead the opening lap but surrendered the lead to Olson on lap two. Once Olson claimed the point, he never looked back. Olson was pressured throughout the entire event first by Wilson and later Jason Cox. Cox passed Olson for the lead on lap 20, but a caution gave Olson his spot back.

“With about 10 laps to go I was getting bottled up in lapped traffic and Jason (Cox) got by me there. I caught a lucky break with the caution and got the lead back,” explained Olson. “After that I knew he was there and had to step it up. That’s what I did and it paid off in the end.”

The finish:

Brian Olson, Jason Cox, Mickey Kempgens, Jacob Wilson, Todd Fayard, Tanner Swanson, Kody Swanson, Dave Baumgartner, JoJo Helberg, Mike Larrison, Jerry Caryer, Hank Lower, Jim Sheets, Shane Morgan, Kevin Feeney, Brian Gingras, Troy DeCaire, Tim Cox, Ed Lee, Timmy Thrash.

BREAKING NEWS: SPEED SPORT is back in print with a new monthly format!
Subscribe for just $24.95. Special offer for former subscribers.