No Catching Steven Lines At Avalon


LARA, Australia – South Australian Steven Lines dominated the fourth round of the ENZED World Series Sprintcars Speedweek Series with a commanding win in front of a huge crowd at Geelong’s Avalon Raceway Monday.

The Mt. Gambier throttle stomper seemed to get better the further into the 35 lap A-Main race he went, leading home Robbie Farr in second, James McFadden in third, Brad Keller fourt and Brooke Tatnell fifth.

Lines paid tribute to his crew chief Craig Bennett in victory lane, citing the car as perfect in its set up for the night.

“The car kept getting better and better,” Lines said. “We really didn’t have to change a thing, even during the red light stoppage. I knew we had a great car because that’s what the boys gave me. There wasn’t much I couldn’t do with it. This really makes up for our disappointment in Mt. Gambier two nights ago. I can’t thank Brian Hall and everyone associated with this team enough.”

Though he’s not contracted to contest the series, 2011 WSS champion Robbie Farr now leads the points as a result of his second place finish and the fact that he played his ‘joker card’ and doubled his points in tonight’s main event.

He set quick time in Revolution Racegear qualifying as well.

“We had nothing to lose given that we’re not running the next round so we played the Joker for some fun, and in the end we wound up the points leader until Jan. 1,” Farr said. “It was fun tonight, the boys are getting a handle on our new car and even though we didn’t have anything for Linesy we ran strongly all night.”

The race was marred by the only red light stoppage when the vastly improved Mitch Foster spun the car in front of American Kyle Hirst in an incident that saw Hirst roll over and involve Garry Brazier, Grant Anderson and David Murcott.

Hirst and Brazier were unable to continue and Anderson and Murcott made it back out with limited impact on the remaining laps.

The finish:

Steven Lines, Robbie Farr, James McFadden, Bradley Keller, Brooke Tatnell, Shaun Dobson, Brad Sweet, Luke Dillon, Shane Stewart, Stephen Bell, Jamie Veal, David Murcott, John Vogels, Grant Anderson, Brett Milburn, Kyle Hirst, Garry Brazier, Mitch Foster, Dylan Jenkin, Trevor Green, Darren Mollenoyux.