Nienhiser Collects Jacksonville Cash

Paul Nienhiser celebrates in victory lane at Jacksonville Speedway. (Mark Funderburk photo)

JACKSONVILLE, Ill. — Capturing his first win at Jacksonville Speedway with the Built Ford Tough MOWA Sprint Car Series Delivered by Morrow Brothers Ford Sunday night, Paul Nienhiser bested the field of 23 cars in dominant fashion.

On the initial start, third starting Aaron Andruskevitch got sideways in front of the field, collecting Justin Standridge and Dylan Tuxhorn. Logan Faucon fell victim to a flat tire, forcing him to be sent to the tail.

The field had reset for a complete start with Jacob Patton and Mike Terry leading them back to green. Patton jumped out to the early lead in what was a 25-lap non-stop affair.

Racing through lapped traffic, fourth-starting Paul Nienhiser worked his way forward past Mike Terry Jr. to overtake the second position. Patton continued to work through the lapped cars with Nienhiser in tow.

Seeing an opportunity to inherit the lead, Nienhiser drove past Patton and never looked back, going on to record his first ever victory at the quarter-mile bullring.

“It’s definitely surreal – I can’t count how many times we have tried to win one here (at Jacksonville) and I’ve ended my night coming off on the hook,” Nienhiser said. “Jacksonville is the closest track to home for us, so whenever we can run here, we hype it up. A lot of great friends, our sponsors are able to come out and watch us. I knew tonight that I needed to run a clean race and run a solid 25 laps in the A main. I’m glad that all my friends and crew were here for this one. It’s pretty special.”

The finish:

Paul Nienhiser, Jacob Patton, Ryan Robinson, Joe B. Miller, Thomas Meseraull, Mike Terry Jr., Nathan Charron, Jim Moughan, Joey Moughan, Brayden Fox, Brinton Marvel, Terry Babb, Dustin Barks, Aaron Andruskevitch, Jeremy Standridge, Justin Standridge, Logan Faucon, Brady Barker, Dylan Tuxhorn, Jeff Tuxhorn, Howard Moore, Robbie Standridge.