New Sponsors, New Name For Annual Trophy Cup

Trophy Cup
Shane Golobic (left) and Ryan Bernal in victory lane at the Trophy Cup in 2017. (Joe Shivak photo)

TULARE, Calif. – The 25th annual Trophy Cup at Thunderbowl Raceway in California will have a new name thanks to new sponsorship that was recently announced.

The event will now be known as the Rico Abreu Racing 25th Annual Trophy Cup presented by Rudeen Racing.

Offering a $200,000 purse for winged 360 sprints, Thunderbowl Raceway will host more than 90 eligible entries on Oct. 18-20 for the silver anniversary of the event. Thanks to continued support from the track and many sponsors, the purse will increase by $35,000 over last year.

The three preliminary nights will now pay $4,000 to win, $2,500 for second, with $1,750, $1,300 and $1,000 completing the top-five.  All cars that make the Saturday A-Main will be guaranteed $5,000 total pay for the three days, a large increase from the previous $2,000 guarantee.

No new entries will be accepted, as only the teams that raced in the Trophy Cup in 2017 are eligible for this year. Invitations will be sent mid-April to those teams that either raced last year or would have raced if not for injury or being affected by the Northern California fires.

The name has been altered, the purse is the highest of its 25-year history, but the unique and challenging format will remain unchanged.