National Sprint Rankings End With Larson On Top

Kyle Larson (Paul Arch photo)

CONCORD, N.C. – With Freddie Rahmer winning Saturday’s feature at Pennsylvania’s BAPS Motor Speedway, the 410 winged sprint car season drew to a close and so too did the National Sprint Car Rankings.

With 32 victories and an average finish of 1.588 in 66 races, Kyle Larson completed the season on top of the national standings by a significant margin over two-time World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series champion Brad Sweet.

Sweet finished second with a 3.40 average finish in 61 starts. Logan Schuchart, David Gravel and Donny Schatz rounded out the top five.

It is the first time Larson has led the National Sprint Car Rankings at the end of the season. Sweet finished on top of the standings last year and Schatz has topped the National Sprint Car Rankings a record six times.

Larson also topped the Eastern region standings for the first time in his career, edging out four-time Eastern Region king Danny Dietrich by just four points in the final tally.

Other regional winners were Cap Henry (Great Lakes), Billy Balog (Great Plains), Steve Short (Mid-America), Carl Bowser (PA-OH) and Dominic Scelzi (Western).

Henry’s Great Lakes region crown was the first of his career, while Balog led the Great Plains region for the sixth time in nine years.

Short nipped two-time defending Mid-America region top dog Jacob Patton for the honors in that portion of the country, while both Bowser and Scelzi led their respective regions for the second straight year.

One hundred and one drivers won the 321 features run this season.

National Sprint Car Rankings

  1. Kyle Larson, 1.588 (66 starts)
  2. Brad Sweet, 3.400 (61 starts)
  3. Logan Schuchart, 4.040 (63 starts)
  4. David Gravel, 4.40 (60 starts)
  5. Donny Schatz, 4.980 (61 starts)
  6. Jade Hastings, 5.190 (21 starts)
  7. Sheldon Haudenschild, 5.20 (61 starts)
  8. Aaron Reutzel, 5.241 (69 starts)
  9. Anthony Macri, 5.300 (62 starts)
  10. Brent Marks, 5.373 (66 starts)

To view the final regional rankings and feature win list, advance to the next page.