MSCS Hands Out 2013 Awards

Jon Stanbrough captured the 2013 Midweste Sprint Car Series crown. (Frank Smith Photo)
Jon Stanbrough captured the 2013 Midweste Sprint Car Series crown. (Frank Smith Photo)
Jon Stanbrough captured the 2013 Midweste Sprint Car Series crown. (Frank Smith Photo)

HAUBSTADT, Ind. – The 2013 Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series Season Awards were distributed earlier this month during MSCS Awards Week.

These post season awards included the Top Ten Point Fund checks, the Top Five Recognition plaques, and various contingency prizes. Jon Stanbrough repeated as the MSCS champion. It was his second MSCS driver’s title. This year the margin of victory was a single point over another former series champion Brady Short.

Stanbrough received his championship trophy following the running of the Harvest Cup after the feature results were finalized. The Championship Car Owners’ Award was also then presented to Daryl Tate and Shane Wade of Amati Racing.

Hoosier Tire MSCS Point Fund Checks have been issued to the top 10 drivers. All ten met the 60 percent participation requirement. The Champion’s portion was $2,500. The point fund also included an award of $750 to this year’s Rookie of the Year Bradley Sterrett. The point fund totaled almost $8,000. Award jackets from Hoosier Tire Midwest were also presented to the top driver, car owner, and rookie.

Brady Short and the other top five drivers Bradley Sterrett, Chase Stockon, and Kyle Cummins received their rosewood plaques during the November awards distribution. The top ten drivers included Kevin Thomas Jr. in sixth, followed by Robert Ballou, rookie Carson Short, Wes McIntyre and Chase Briscoe. Thomas led the point standings at every stop from May on into September. He lead all competitors with four MSCS feature victories and was in front for 80 laps of the 280 feature laps contested during the season.

Short received the plaque from MSCS for being the 2013 Hard Charger of the Year. His drive up through the pack in gaining 14 spots was the highest mark of the year. Merchandise certificates from AFCO totaling over $500 were awarded to the top drivers from those who signed up for their special racing shocks program. The top three awards went to Short, Sterrett and Stockon.

Each year Hinchman Indy Racing Uniforms provides an award designated to be given in support of the MSCS Rookie Driver Program. The Rookie of the Year Sterrett received the valuable certificate they provide towards the purchase of a driver’s uniform. AFCO is also another supporter of the Rookie Program each season.

The gate prize that is presented at the end of the season by RaceBumpers.Com was won by Thomas. He won a complete set of bumpers and nerf bars. Thomas’ name was drawn from a pool of 14 eligible drivers that participated in 60 percent or more of the MSCS sanctioned events.

The National sprint Car Hall of Fame in Knoxville, Iowa, also contributed three membership packets for the upcoming year. They were given to the Champion, Points Runner-up, and Rookie of the Year. More than 100 drivers participated in MSCS races in 2013, They arrived at an average rate of 29 cars per event. The 37 cars in the pits at Lincoln Park Speedway in August for a $3,000 to win event was the largest field assembled.

The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series wishes to thank all the series sponsors, drivers and car owners, track promoters, officials, photographers and journalists, and the race fans for their support and involvement in 2013. Sponsors who provided awards associated with the racing events held include Keizer Aluminum Wheels, RaceBumpers.Com, Rod End Supply, Saldana Racing Products, SBI Performance Fuel Systems, and Wilwood Brakes. Driver Daron Clayton received an added Tuff Brakes package from Wilwood for his 11th place finish in the MSCS standings.

This was the 13th season of racing for MSCS. With the Awards process completed MSCS Officials will be reviewing the rule book and are already working with track promoters to create an exciting schedule of 410 sprint car races for 2014.