Moore Is 8th WAR Sprint Winner

Mitchell Moore won the WAR non-winged sprint car race Saturday at Missouri's LA Raceway. (Ken Simon photo)
Mitchell Moore won the WAR non-winged sprint car race Saturday at Missouri's LA Raceway. (Ken Simon photo)

LAMONTE, Mo. — Becoming the eighth different winner in nine races, Mitchell Moore wired the field at LA Raceway in Wingless Auto Racing competition Saturday night.

Moore, shot into the lead at the start with John Helm, Faron Crank, and Frank Brown just behind.

Brown looked very strong early as he moved past Helm for second on lap three with a nice pass off the high line of turn two.

After a caution for a stalled Jeff Wingate on lap six, Moore again set a furious pace with Brown, Helm, and Steven Cross following.

Tenth-starting Josh Stephens and 11th-starter Austin Alumbaugh had worked their way up into fifth and sixth with eight laps complete.

On lap nine, the pair continued their march forward as they worked by Cross putting both in the top five.

Second running Brown would avert near disaster on lap ten as he lost a couple of positions slipping off the backstretch. Brown’s misfortune allowed Helm and Stephens into the top three.

Stephens had worked his way up to Helm for second as he put heavy pressure on him. In turn two, the pair nearly made contact with Stephens sliding over the bank. This allowed Brown to move back into third as Stephens worked his way back on the track in the fourth spot.

Stephens would move back up a short while later to challenge Brown for third.

Brown and Stephens continued their great battle with both moving by Helm on lap fifteen.

Stephens would work by Brown with just a handful of laps left. Over the last few laps, Stephens made up a lot of ground, but he would not catch the smooth driving Moore, who picked up his first WAR win in his Kelly Potter No. 51 with Denny Moore power under the hood.

Stephens finished second with Brown, Alumbaugh and Helm filling the top five.



Previous articleClark Cops PASS North Triumph
Next articleDuncan Nabs First 410 Triumph is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.