McCullagh Wins, Hickman Locks Up Eureka Sprint Title


WARRNAMBOOL, Australia – Rusty Hickman claimed his maiden Eureka Sprintcar Series championship on Sunday at Australia’s Premier Speedway while Corey McCullagh got to celebrate in victory lane.

The final 30-lap feature of the 2017-18 Eureka Sprintcar Series saw McCullagh dominate the 30-lap feature to claim the $5,000 payday, leading home Luke Dillon and Jamie Veal.

Robbie Farr and John Vogels completed the top-five in the 30-lap feature. Hickman finished eighth to secure the Eureka Sprintcar Series championship.

With just one night of racing left in the Parr Motorsports Sprintcar Track Premiership, Veal now has a slim eight-point lead over Darren Mollenoyux in the battle for the track championship.

Glenn Mitchell picked up a victory in the companion Legends feature on Sunday.

The finish:

Corey McCullagh, Luke Dillon, Jamie Veal, Robbie Farr, John Vogels, Darren Mollenoyux, Brock Hallett, Rusty Hickman, Peter Doukas, Jessie Attard, Jack Lee, Steven Lines, Jye O’Keeffe, Tim Rankin, Glen Sutherland, Charles Hunter, Bobby Daly, Ryan Davis.