McCarl Masters Tri-City Sprint Cars

Terry McCarl (24) races under Ian Madsen Friday night at Tri-City Speedway. (Mark Funderburk photo)
Terry McCarl (24) races under Ian Madsen Friday night at Tri-City Speedway. (Mark Funderburk photo)
Terry McCarl (24) races under Ian Madsen Friday night at Tri-City Speedway. (Don Figler photo)

PONTOON BEACH, Ill. – Terry McCarl was the one constant in a night of craziness for the Midwest Open Wheel Ass’n (MOWA), as he won every race he entered en route to his first MOWA win of 2013 and his first career win at Tri-City Speedway.

While McCarl seemed to be on cruise control out front, the battles and events behind him made for an exciting evening, as the field saw 360s both in the air and on the ground, slide jobs and more throughout the night.

McCarl led every lap of the feature event, but behind him, Christopher Bell, Brady Bacon and Brad Loyet were putting on a passing clinic as the trio worked hard to settle into position.

Following a lap 12 red flag for Kory Bales, who got on his side in turns one and two after riding the wall, the before mentioned trio spent the next seven laps battling for the runner-up spot. Eventually Bell, would settle into second, followed by Bacon and Loyet.

Bell then attempted to real in McCarl, and closed about a third of a track advantage to less than a half a straightaway at the checkered flag as Bell appeared to be the fastest car on the track over the last five laps.

Ian Madsen, who has two MOWA wins on the season including one at Tri-City early this year, started inside row two and ran in the top five early in the event, but got into the outside wall on the front stretch at the start of the race. On lap seven, he got into the wall in turns three and four and got upside down. It was unclear if the incident on the front stretch had anything to do with the crash, but his night was over.

Lyton Jeffrey, who was driving the Hetrick Racing 35H for the first time in 2013 with the MOWA series, made a hard charge early in the race and was battling for fourth when he looped the car in turn 4. He stayed on the gas and lost only four spots do to the 360 spin. The red flag for Bales brought the field back to Jeffrey, and he was able to rebound to finish sixth.

Current MOWA point leader Jerrod Hull exploded a motor at the checkered flag of his heat race win, leaving his night in question, but Jimmy Davies came to his aid. Davies scratched himself from the B-Main and allowed Hull to run the 99 car in the feature event. Hull started 20th for the feature and finished 11th.

A.J. Bruns, second in MOWA points, was not able to qualify for the main event, after finishing sixth in the B-Main, which only took four.

The finish:

Terry McCarl, Chris Bell, Brady Bacon, Brad Loyet, Paul Nienheiser, Jim Hetrick, Joey Moughan, Bryan Clauson, Jimmy Hurley, Ryan Kempin, Jerrod Hull, Parker Price-Miller, Andy Baugh, Jimmy Bridgeman, Robbie Standridge, Kory Bales, Ian Madsen, Chris Urish, Tommy Worley, Cory Bruns.