Mark Smith Is USCS Winter Heat King

Mark Smith
Mark Smith continues to dominated USCS competition in 2019. (USCS photo)

HATTIESBURG, Miss. — Mark Smith raced from fifth starting spot to win Sunday’s United Sprint Car Series feature at Hattiesburg Speedway.

Smith’s third victory of the season helped him secure the USCS Winter Heat title. Smith held off Saturday night winner Matt Covington, who romped from seventh, to finish second.

Davie Franek, Danny Smith and Corey Bailey rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Mark Smith, Matt Covington, Davie Franek, Danny Smith, Corey Bailey, Johnny Bridges, Morgan Turpen, Dale Howard, Jeff Oliver, Bobby Tersillo, R.J. Jacobs, Terry Gray, Jim Shuster, Jake Knight, Dewayne White, Cody Karl, Shelby Brown, Chase Howard, Jeff Willingham.