Maddox Dominates Top Gun Sprint Run

A.J. Maddox (Mike Horne/Go Fast photo)

GIBSONTON, Fla. — A.J. Maddox raced to a dominant victory in Thursday’s 25-lap feature for the Top Guns Sprints at East Bay Raceway Park.

Keith Butler held the early lead, but a torrid charge by Maddox was not to be denied. Once Maddox was able to lead, he was never passed again. Frank Beck was about the only one holding onto hope, but Maddox built up a seven-second lead before a lap-23 caution.

When the checkered flag waved, only Maddox, Beck and Brandon Grubaugh were on the lead lap.

Steve Mathis Jr. won the crate late model feature.

Two-time defending V-8 Warrior track champion George Handy was able to take the early race lead to win the division feature on night one.

The finish:

A.J. Maddox, Frank Beck, Brandon Grubaugh, Robbie Smith, Keith Butler, Johnnie Alexander, Mark Cole, Luke Hill, Garrett Green, D.J. Peeples, Tim George, Tim Fricke, Dylan Colding, Kyle Connery, Aileen Collins-Love, Travis Bliemeister, Billy Bridges, Bruce Durden, Bryan Eckley, Justin Webster.