Macedo & Ian Madsen Target Grand Annual Classic

Grand Annual
Carson Macedo will chase the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions crown with Joe Gaerte in 2018. (Mark Funderburk Photo)

WARRNAMBOOL, Australia – The number of entrants for the South West Conveyancing Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic at Premier Speedway continues to grow.

The latest batch of entries includes another American, Carson Macedo, as well as Australia’s own Ian Madsen. The list of entries now exceeds 110 cars.

Having become a regular visitor to Australia over the past couple of seasons, Macedo returns to drive for Sean and Felicity Dyson during the South West Conveyancing Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic.

Having raced since the age of four, the 21-year-old Macedo is turning heads everywhere he goes. Last year prior to the Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic Macedo captured Avalon Raceway’s President’s Cup.

Macedo followed that up with a 13th-place finish in the Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic. He then returned to the United States, scoring 11 victories between sprint cars and midgets.

Madsen is coming off a stellar American season where he captured the coveted Knoxville Raceway track championship as well as recording a top-10 finish in the Knoxville Nationals. After a strong 2017 season, Madsen and ICP Racing have already announced plans to race full-time with the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series this year.

For the Classic, Sydney-based car owner James Matherson will join forces with Madsen as he wheels the No. N49 entry for the teams supporters City Access Scaffolding, Mattrans Refrigerated Transport, Watsons Transport Express, Pinnacle Graphix, White’s Crane Service and American Race Tyre Services.

Other recent entries include Peter Bourke, Darren Jensen, Sam Putland, Daniel Evans, Terry Kelly, Adam King and Robert Nicholas.

The 46th annual South West Conveyancing Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic will be run Jan. 19-21 at Premier Speedway in Warrnambool, Australia, and will serve as the only qualifier for the SPEED SPORT Challenge at Iowa’s Knoxville Raceway on Aug. 10.