Last-Lap Pass Lifts Shane Golobic

Shane Golobic (left) in victory lane at Thunderbowl Raceway. (Joe Shivak photo)

TULARE, Calif. — Shane Golobic made a last-lap pass of both Bud Kaeding and leader Kyle Hirst and went on to win the NARC/KWS sprint car feature at the Thunderbowl Raceway.

Golobic picked up his second series win of the season, earning an impressive $11,000 check from the Peter Murphy Classic.

Kaeding, who led early after starting on the pole, would bring the Williams Motorsports No. 0 home in the runner up spot ahead of Hirst who passed Kaeding on the 12th circuit and was up front until the final lap.

The race went an extra lap distance when the caution flag waved on the 29th lap for a Mathew Moles spin in the fourth turn. This set up a green-white-checkered finish and a bold move by Golobic to pass both Kaeding and Hirst going into the third turn, coming to the checkered finish.

Willie Croft and Tim Kaeding completed the top five.

Kaeding jumped to the lead at the start and led the first six laps until a red flag stopped the race for a Matt Dumesny flip in the third turn. The Australian visitor aboard Rod Tiner’s No. 83A was able to walk away after a strong showing in the Pole Shuffle put him on the front row with Kaeding.  The white No. 0 controlled a single file restart while Hirst was moving forward in the field. Hirst would pass Kaeding with a low move in the first turn on lap 12 which also allowed Tanner Thorsen to get by.

Another red flag would stop the race when Sean Watts bounced his No. 98 off the wall coming out of the fourth turn, sending him on his side. Dominic Scelzi pitted under the red to check a drive line issue. He would restart the race, but only completed an additional lap and retired. The track was beginning to slick over, causing the cars to run single file. A caution flag would wave on lap 27 when the second place Thorsen had a flat right rear tire and would have to pit. Craig Stidham also suffered a flat and pitted.

With Thorsen set to the rear, Kaeding moved into the second place followed by Golobic on the restart.  It looked like it would be a three-lap dash to decide the champion, however Moles spun on the white flag lap, doing a 360-degree spin including bouncing off the turn 4 wall as the leaders were entering the third turn, the yellow lights came on slowing the race.

Moles pitted to replace a flat tire and the race restarted with a green-white-checkered finish. Golobic drove his black No. 21X Tarlton Motorsports high into the third turn passing both Kaeding and leader Hirst.

In victory lane Golobic explained the winning move as, “I saw an opportunity and took it.”

The finish:

Shane Golobic, Bud Kaeding, Kyle Hirst, Willie Croft, Tim Kaeding, Jason Solwold, Gio Scelzi, Jason Statler, D.J. Netto, Jason Meyers, Colby Copeland, Tanner Thorsen, Sean Becker, Kurt Nelson, Dustin Golobic, Buddy Kofoid, Mathew Moles, Craig Stidham, Dominic Scelzi, Sean Watts, Bobby McMahon, Matt Dumesny, Chase Johnson