Lasoski Leads Latest Knoxville Hall Of Fame Class

Danny Lasoski will join the Knoxville Raceway Hall of Fame later this year. (Owen Richards Photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa – Sprint car veteran Danny Lasoski will join the Knoxville Raceway Hall of Fame as part of the class of 2017.

Lasoski will be joined by Jeff Woodruff, Craig Johnson and the late Jim Roush in the class of 2017.

Lasoski is an 11-time Knoxville Raceway track champion, four-time Knoxville Nationals winner and winner of 111 features at Knoxville. He is the most decorated driver in Knoxville Raceway history and will be the first active driver inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Woodruff is a long-time crew chief and car owner at times. He has won 50 features at Knoxville with notable drivers such as Dean Chadd, Randy Smith, Skip Jackson and Billy Alley. He has won five 410 track championships and one 360 track championship.

Johnson was a track official for approximately 35 years and was most notably seen on the frontstretch for a long period of time helping lineup cars for time trials. Both of his parents, Boge & Anita Johnson, have been inducted into the Knoxville Raceway Hall of Fame, as well as his brother, Gary.

Roush was active around Knoxville Raceway for more than 40 years in a variety of capacities, ranging from track official, push truck driver, safety crew and as a member of the Marion County Fair Ass’n, volunteering his time for several projects to help improve the facility.

The annual induction banquet will be held at Saturday, June 24 at Noon in Dyer-Hudson for all current Hall of Fame members and guests with a picnic style lunch, served at a cost of $5 per person. Tickets area available at the ticket office by calling 641-842-5431.